Blogs: Week of 1 Mar — 7 Mar

Yichen Liu
2 min readMar 7, 2021

--

What did you do this past week?

This past week I have been working on finishing Phase 1 of our Software Engineering project. I finished the code for retrieving git status on the about page and setting up the model pages and instance pages. There were some small issues right before deployment but it worked out in the end. In the next phase, I think it’s important to leave more time for deployment thus we have enough time to fix the bugs.

What’s in your way?

One lab on y86 simulator for another class. I personally hate writing code on the assembly level, but I guess that’s something I need to get over sooner or later.

What will you do next week?

I finished most midterms this past week, so I think there will be plenty of time for me to work on phase 2 and learn the related tools.

If you read it, what did you think of the Open-Closed Principle?

I believe this is one of the readings that Downing gives every semester so I’ve read it before. I think unlike the previous paper, the open-closed principle, or writing interfaces is actually a pretty well-known concept and was emphasized in many classes.

What was your experience of iterators and reduce2? (this question will vary, week to week)

I’m feeling very comfortable using iterators in python now since we spent almost 3 lectures on it. The syntax of using it is very similar to iterators in java and C++, while one thing to be noticed is that the class needs to have __iter__ to use an iterator on itself.

For the reduce2 hackerrank test we didn’t pass a few cases where one of the parameters is not provided. I feel like it’s something wrong with our precondition check code.

What made you happy this week?

The phase 1 and midterms went well and I’m satisfied that I’m not too behind in my classes(which happened the last semester) although I did miss some of the lectures. I think spring break will be a good time to catch up on everything.

What’s your pick-of-the-week or tip-of-the-week?

My tip-of-the-week is to attend as many lectures as possible. Don’t expect to watch the recordings later because you probably won’t ever do that.

--

--