Blogs: Week of 25 Jan — 31 Jan

Yichen Liu
2 min readJan 30, 2021

--

What did you do this past week?

For this class there weren’t too many things to do last week. What I mostly did this past week is taking zoom lectures and do the readings and assignments. I’m also following a flask tutorial in order to prepare this class’s project.

What’s in your way?

My sleep schedule is messed up now. I hope I can adjust it to normal at the weekends.

What will you do next week?

Hopefully, I can finish the Collatz project fast since it’s my third time playing with it. There are also tons of readings and assignments from other classes I need to finish.

If you read it, what did you think of the makefile?

I think writing makefile is painful, especially since the grammar is weird and it’s hard to debug when the commands don’t work. But it’s really convenient to use and run tools on the project.

What was your experience of Docker? (this question will vary, week to week)

When I used Docker before I didn’t realize there’s a mapping of actual machine directory to virtual machine directory. In fact, I never included a directory in the command, I just used docker run on the image. I’m now surprised how it worked on me.

What was your experience of assertions? (this question will vary, week to week)

Assertions are good for pre/post-conditions but not good for testing. But to be honest I seldom use it correctly. I’m taking prof. Hunter’s debugging and verifying programs now and he also emphasizes the importance of checking pre/post-conditions. I hope I can get used to using assertions for future programming projects after this semester.

What was your experience of unit tests? (this question will vary, week to week)

I’ve used the google test framework on c++ quite extensively before. pytest has some very interesting features, but the underlying idea is pretty much the same.

What made you happy this week?

Survived the first school week itself made me happy enough.

What’s your pick-of-the-week or tip-of-the-week?

My pick of the week is this flask tutorial I found from Prof. Fraij’s browser bookmark when he shares his screen on zoom, and I think it’s a pretty good resource to study. It’s published 3 years ago and I don’t know how much flask has changed in that amount of time. But overall I find this tutorial is detailed enough for beginners like me.

--

--