Yichen Liu
2 min readJul 13, 2020

CS 371g Blogs: Week of 6 Jul — 12 Jul

What did you do this past week?
This past week is the last week of my iOS class so I worked really hard on the final project. It was a very dense and fun course. I also start on the deque project with a partner this weekend, we wrote some unit tests and implemented the constructors and a few other methods.
What’s in your way?
I think this deque project is more challenging than the previous three projects. For now, I have serval questions about the resize and erase method. I’ll try to figure them out in next week’s class and office hours.
What will you do next week?
I only have one class now so I’ll spend more time on this class’s materials. I’ll try to finish the project as early as possible, and formally start learning the online MIT distributed system class. I hope I can finish that class by the end of summer.
What was your experience of vector and deque nature? (this question will vary, week to week)
I did not know too much of deque before taking Downing’s class, and I think the design of this data structure is very interesting. As for the nature of these data structures, well I don’t know how can I use such knowledge yet, but it’s always a good thing to learn more about what’s under the hood as a cs student.
How are you doing and holding up? What’s been most helpful for you in terms of support at this time?
I’m doing well. It was really stressful to have two programming homework per week in iOS class and now I finally feel a sense of relief. Also, the university and CS department’s quick response to the new SEVIS visa policy was really supportive for international students like me.
What made you happy this week?
I’m pretty satisfied with my first exam grade.
What’s your pick-of-the-week or tip-of-the-week?
My pick-of-the-week is this guy’s youtube channel https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCbTw29mcP12YlTt1EpUaVJw
His videos helped me a lot while building my iOS project. If you want to learn some iOS programming basics I highly recommend you to watch his tutorials.