CS371G Blog Entry 2-Yichen Liu

Yichen Liu
2 min readJun 22, 2020

--

What did you do this past week?

I finished the design document for the iOS class and spent lots of time on homework. I also rewatched the lecture recordings of this class because I always miss something in a 2-hour class.

What’s in your way?

I’m having very low-quality sleeping in the past few weeks. I always wake up and 2 or 3 in the middle of the night and couldn't fall asleep again. So I started working out in the morning and I’ll see if it will help.

What will you do next week?

I will work on Netflix with my partner. We discussed the basic framework of the project and we figured out that if all the caches have been created before we start on writing code, there won’t be too much work for us to do. Also, I need to start working on my iOS final project since the class will be finished in the next 2 weeks.

What was your experience of exceptions, consts, and Boost serialization?

For me, lectures of exceptions and consts are reviews of last semester. I didn’t use exceptions very often in my previous experience with C++, but I know consts well and used it intensively both in exams and projects. Boost serialization is completely new stuff to me, and we spent hours figuring it out how this actually works. I’m going to read more documentation about it when I get some spare time.

How are you doing and holding up? What’s been most helpful for you in terms of support at this time?

Except for my sleeping issue, I'm doing fine.

What made you happy this week?

I cleaned up my desk and connect my laptop to a larger monitor, which makes the experience of coding so much better, the only drawback is I have to open the laptop to use the camera if I get cold-called in class.

What’s your pick-of-the-week or tip-of-the-week?

My pick-of-the-week is this MIT course: The Missing Semester of Your CS Education. It introduces some very useful tools and techniques such as vim, shell tools and data wrangling which CS professors always assume you know how to use.

--

--