CS371g Blog Post

Yichen Liu
2 min readJul 5, 2020

--

What did you do this past week?

I took the first exam in this class and I think it went just fine. I also worked on the Integer project with a partner and my iOS class final project by myself. For the Integer project, I think we finished most of the stuff, the only thing left is the stress test in hackerrank. I tried to fix it by implementing better multiplication but the program fails at very large numbers.

What’s in your way?

I implemented the Karatsuba multiplication to our Integer class but it starts to give me memory leak error when the number goes to large. Since it is a recursive algorithm and we need to create multiple containers to store the intermediate value I think its totally legit to have some memory issues. However, I might just leave it be and use our naive algorithm because I’ve spent really too much time on it.

What will you do next week?

For next week, I will complete my iOS project and take some good rests.

What was your experience of Test #1 and its two-stage nature?

I think the experience is pretty great, especially when you share a screen and discuss in the two-stage part. It didn't happen in my last semester two-stage exam where everybody just worked on their own stuff in a silent breakout room. The test itself was not very hard in my experience, the descriptions were clear and the time was sufficient.

How are you doing and holding up? What’s been most helpful for you in terms of support at this time?

A one-month summer class is really overwhelming. For the past week, I’ve been literally coding all day long. Fortunately, when the iOS class finishes next week I will finally have some leisure in a day.

What made you happy this week?

I made significant progress in both of my classes. It’s rewarding when you solve an issue after serval hours of debugging.

What’s your pick-of-the-week or tip-of-the-week?

My pick-of-the-week is this UT page https://protect.utexas.edu/. It contains pretty much all the information about the plan for the next semester. There’s also a UT Covid dashboard https://coronavirus.utexas.edu/ showing the covid cases of UT students and faculties.

--

--