CS371G Summer2020 Blog Entry Yichen Liu

Yichen Liu
2 min readJun 14, 2020

--

What did you do this past week?
I’ve done most of the collatz project, it’s only slightly different from the project I did last semester so everything went well. Now I’m waiting for my merge request to the public test repo to be accepted and finish the project.

What’s in your way?
I need to build an ios app for my mobile computing class and for now I don’t have a very good idea on what to build. The documentation is due next week so I’m planning to schedule an office hour with the professor and discuss it.

What will you do next week?
I’ll get my hands on the next project as soon as it’s published, hopefully with someone in the zoom breakout room. I also need to work on my mobile computing project and study all the frameworks that I might need to use.

What was your experience of assertions, unit tests, pointers, and references? (this question will vary, week to week)
Well, the lectures so far are identical to the first two weeks of OOP which I took in spring, and I used them intensively in that course so I’m pretty familiar with these concepts. The r-value l-value part was a good review to me, I didn’t deeply understand them last semester.

How are you doing and holding up? What’s been most helpful for you in terms of support at this time?
I’m doing well, the pandemic really doesn’t change my daily routine too much. I would stay in my room all day even everything goes well out there. I think getting in touch with my family was really helpful to me, I‘m more motivated after a call with my parents and grandparents.

What made you happy this week?
I watched the new Netflix show Space Force, which is quite hilarious.

What’s your pick-of-the-week or tip-of-the-week?
My pick-of-the-week is this MIT distributed system open course: https://pdos.csail.mit.edu/6.824/schedule.html. Although I haven’t started to study it yet, it’s a good resource with all lecture videos and labs for those who are interested in systems, especially when UTCS stops offering this course for undergrads.

--

--