CS371g: Yichen Liu

Yichen Liu
2 min readJun 29, 2020

--

What did you do this past week?

I spent most of my time working on Netflix this week. Everything went smoothly until we start to write unit tests when we found out it was so difficult to write tests that fit our code structure. We had to make some changes here and there, which gave us a pretty good lesson on our future design. For the rest of my time, I worked on my iOS class’s homework and project. At the beginning of the semester, the homework took me 1–2hour to finish but now it's getting more challenging.

What’s in your way?

The first exam is coming and I need to do the exercise of the STL algorithm as soon as possible. Other than that my ios final project is due in two weeks and i barely started.

What will you do next week?

I’ll do some review this weekend, and try to finish 80% of my ios project next week. Also, I’ll start working on project 3 for this class when it’s posted.

What was your experience of RMSE, lambdas, function objects, Boost serialization, and iterators?

Boost serialization was a very powerful tool and I think it’s relatively easy to use. We were stuck at the beginning because we didn't add the necessary flag to compile the code. I worked on function objects and lambdas in OOP last semester and it turned out to be an overkill for that project, it’s good to formally study it again. For RMSE, although we didn't write a neat function to compute it like Prof.Downing did on lecture but I will definitely do it in the next project.

How are you doing and holding up? What’s been most helpful for you in terms of support at this time?

I am doing well, and I hope this question will not be asked every week because I really don't have much to say about it.

What made you happy this week?

I finished everything on time. I was coding all day on the projects for my two classes and it really feels good to eventually finish them.

What’s your pick-of-the-week or tip-of-the-week?

https://medium.com/javascript-scene/the-secret-of-simple-code-a2cacd8004dd I found this article quite interesting, it reminds me of the importance of abstraction in software engineering.

--

--